## **Appendix 1.** Glossary of terms.

**Local government** – includes territorial local authorities, unitary authorities, and regional councils that carry out functions and administration regionally for the New Zealand Government.

**Regional Councils** – local government bodies responsible to carry out Crown or Government legislation particularly centred on resource management, local planning and policy.

**The Crown** – The Crown in New Zealand represents the constitutional system of government, the executive that governs, forming a Westminster-style parliamentary democracy where legislative or judicial branches of the New Zealand Government write and pass national legislation and policy.

The Treaty of Waitangi (TTOW/Te Tiriti o Waitangi) – A written agreement (in Māori and English) signed in 1840 between the British Crown (now the New Zealand Government) and iwi/hapū tribal groups in New Zealand. TTOW established a partnership for British sovereignty and recognition of indigenous rights and governance. There are 4 main articles in TTOW: 1) sovereignty, kawanatanga, British authority to govern; 2) The Crown guarantees "full, exclusive and undisturbed possession of indigenous peoples lands and estates, forests, fisheries and other properties" and indigenous Māori have tino rangatiratanga (tribal authority) over all taonga; 3) the Queen gives protection to "all the ordinary people living in New Zealand"; 4) the Māori text includes rights to practice religious freedom and customary lore.

**Waitangi Tribunal** – Established in 1975, the Waitangi Tribunal is charged with making recommendations on Treaty claims to Government (The Crown), that seek redress and settlement by Māori relating to historic actions, grievances, and omissions by the Crown that breach the 1840 Treaty.

## **Principles of the Treaty of Waitangi** – 5 main principles based on the Treaty are described:

- 1. Principle of Government (Kawanatanga principle): The British Government to govern for the common good (article 1 sovereignty, and 'interests' 2).
- 2. Principle of self-management (rangatiratanga principle): iwi rights to manage resources, taonga, iwi affairs, etc. articles 2 & 3 of the Treaty of Waitangi.
- 3. Equality: all NZers equal under NZ laws article, reduces disparities in society.
- 4. Principle of reasonable cooperation: government and iwi are obliged to accord each other cooperation on major issues of concern (good faith).
- 5. Principle of redress: the government was responsible for providing effective processes for the resolution of grievances in the expectation that reconciliation could occur.

## Ngā Kupu Māori – Māori words

Hapū – local sub-tribes that make up larger iwi groupings, at local or district geographic level

Harakeke – flax, important customary plant and fibre for weaving (*Phormium tenax*)

Inanga – juveniles of native fish, 5 *galaxiid* species, commonly called whitebait (*Galaxias maculatus*)

Iwi – a Māori tribe, often in a geographic area, at regional or district level

Kaitiaki – person or agent giving benefit to the resource, environmental guardian

Kaitiakitanga – environmental guardianship, embodies a range of complex Māori environmental concepts

Kanakana/piharau – Lamprey fish (*Geotria australis*)

Kaupapa – Framework, philosophy, purpose, scope, topic, sets cultural framework for discussion

Kōkopu – native *galixiid* species (banded kōkopu – *Galaxias fasciatus*; shortjaw kōkopu – *Galaxias postvectis*, and giant kōkopu – *Galaxias argenteus*)

Koaro – native fish (*Galaxias brevipinnis*)

Koura – freshwater crayfish (*Paranephrops planifrons, Paranephrops zealandicus*)

Kuta – important customary plant for weaving (*Eleocharis sphacelata*)

Mātauranga Māori – Māori knowledge, Māori knowledge system, belief system, wisdom

Mahinga kai – places where customary resources (e.g., plants, fish, food) are harvested or collected

Mauri – life force, internal spirit or wairua, energy of system, links the physical to the spiritual world

Ngā Mātāpono – our values

Raupō - important customary plant for weaving (*Typha orientalis*)

Rūnanga – tribal/governing council, Māori assembly, iwi authority

Takiwā – tribal region/area or province

Tangata whenua – local people, people of the land, people inextricably linked to their natural resources

Taonga – treasured/precious resources such as the language, customs, flora and fauna species, iconic species, indigenous or customary species

Te Ao Māori - Māori world, Māori world view

Wairua – spiritual dimension

Whānau – family, extended family; groups make up hapū and iwi

Whakapapa – ancestral lineage, hierarchical assemblage of descendants, inter-connections

Wai – water, freshwater ecosystems

Whenua – land, placenta